top of page

Get Over Yourself


There are so many more things in life we can achieve if we simply get out of our own way. Snap out of it and get over you, life isn’t over yet. In 2013, I was finally diagnosed with Cohn’s disease after about a 4 yearlong journey of 2 doctors trying to determine exactly what was going on. After I was diagnosed, you would have thought I was sentenced to life and the devil moved in with me. I was irritated with the cards I had been dealt and at the same time ecstatic for a temporary resolution. I had been diagnosed with a life long disease with no cure that would probably end up with me getting multiple surgeries. Long story short, it sucks very big balls and I am not here to paint a pretty picture with rainbows for you. However, I am here to say that even through this bad hand I still stayed in the game. There were times I was ready to quit and honestly those days even appear occasionally now but I am still here.


I have learned to be grateful for my disease because it has made me so much stronger and put things in a better perspective. I don’t stay mad at friends and family very long because I am not sure how long any of us will really be here. My appreciation for life is so much greater now than it has ever been. I say all this to re-iterate from my last post your hell can be your happiness if you let it. There is a time when you have to stop feeling bad for yourself and the time is always now. Playing in your head over and over again about the unfortunate events and circumstances you come from gets you nowhere faster or further in life. If you are sitting there mad about what seems to be a curse on your life I suggest three things, fall in love with yourself, find humor in your circumstance and focus on things you have control over. Falling in love with yourself will take you so far in so many different situations in your life. Self-love attracts positivity

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page