top of page

Love at First Sight



Clark Atlanta was the school I always wanted to attend so my mother made it a point to visit. We came, we saw, I CRIED. After my tour I was a wreck, I thought about the one-way roads, the downtown vibes and the terrible potholes that seemed to rest at every corner. I thought to myself, how could I face this kind of school I am not prepared for this. So instead of growing a pair, I bowed out and always wondered would I ever have the balls to actually take on the city.

In 2013, my sister and mother gifted me with a trip to Atlanta, Georgia. It was a tough time for me and they wanted to see me happy. The day came for us to leave and as soon as our flight landed it was like love at first sight. The first mural on the wall I laid eyes on was one of Martin Luther King Jr. On this day, I fell hard for a city I barely knew but I was all in and ready to get to know it. I thought it was only right for me to write about my love for Atlanta on MLK Day being that he is one of the reasons I fell so in love with it.


My love for black history is so strong that at some point I just wanted to be with my people. Yes, I said my people! I wanted everyday to be like I was waking up in Branch Hall at Virginia State University to young black professionals eager to take on the world and be ten times better than the next. So much history happened in Atlanta and I was addicted when it came researching. It was simple, I wanted to walk down the same roads MLK did with the hopes of being half the legend he was. I loved reading Dr. King’s books and till this day the Mine Eyes Have Seen lies on my Ikea table for all to see. The exact placement of this book has followed me to all five apartments I have ever lived in. I always feel that it is important to know where you came from, gratefulness is important in the law of attraction and life.


I say all of this to say…life comes full circle when you believe. In 2016, my uncle passed away and so many emotions surfaced one being live life to the fullest and I decided then it was time to go. I wrote down my plans to move and gave myself a time frame. I watched The Secret every month and I knew it was going to happen (we will get into this later). Bottom line is, YOUR THOUGHTS BECOME THINGS!

Believe!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page